All Databases

Using Databases at SMHS. Click to Enlarge.

Advanced Placement Source by EBSCO
Magazines and academic journals useful for research in the junior and senior years of high school.

Academic Search Premier by EBSCO
Magazines and academic journals useful for research in the junior and senior years of high school.

Ancestry
Family history and census and archival records.

A to Z World Culture
Country and culture information.

Biography in Context by Gale
Articles from encyclopedias, books, and other reference sources on thousands of individuals.

Business Source Premier by EBSCO
Company and industry profiles.

CountryWatch Reports by EBSCO
Advanced information on all countries, including key data, history, political conditions, and a political risk index. Once inside the database, choose Country Reports.

EBSCO — All EBSCOhost Databases
Magazines, newspapers, academic journals, reference books, and primary sources.

Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia Britannica School Edition.

Gale PowerSearch
Search GVRL and Biography in Context at the same time.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias covering the arts, business, education, the environment, history, law, literature, medicine, nations, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, sociology, and technology.

Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many subjects and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles, some of which are full-text.

Health Source by EBSCO
Drug information, reports, medical books.

Masterfile Premier by EBSCO
Magazines and newspapers for high school research, grades 9-12.

MAS Ultra and Middle Search Plus by EBSCO
For middle school research.

Newspaper Source by EBSCO
Includes more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers as well as hundreds of U.S. regional newspapers. This database also includes full-text television and radio news transcripts.

New York Times
Daily issues of The Times Replica Edition.

NoveList Plus by EBSCO
Find new fiction and nonfiction books based on reading levels, topics of interest, and books you’ve already read and enjoyed.

NoveList K-8 by EBSCO
Just like NoveList, but for fiction in grades K-8.

Opposing Viewpoints by Gale
The Opposing Viewpoints titles within the Gale Virtual Reference Library. Numerous issues, including but not limited to: cyberbullying, the death penalty, fast food, gay marriage, Islam, media violence, religion in schools, student drug testing, and video games.

Questia School
Similar to Gale Virtual Reference Library, but sources include regular nonfiction books, magazines, newspapers, and professional journals. Log-in with your school email address and your assigned password, which appears on the Passwords page.

Student Research Center by EBSCO
Books and encyclopedias, radio and TV news transcripts, country and state reports, primary source documents, and photos, maps, and flags.